Gransnet forums

Gardening

Ivy. A problem new to me, New build

(9 Posts)
craftyone Sat 13-Apr-19 11:24:16

I never had to deal with established ivy. I think it was cut back and I have seen it growing up the garden wall. My new build house and small garden. I appreciate that I can keep cutting it down to weaken it and just this once am not averse to weedkiller because this tiny garden is now full of weeds and I cannot do a thing about it until I complete

I have been gardening for 50 years and been running an allotment for 9 years, whenever I have spotted ivy, I just pull it out. This `infestation` will be different, I think it is growing in from elsewhere

advice welcome

HildaW Sat 13-Apr-19 13:26:43

Can always remember seeing a programme on TV about ivy....it decided that actually it does not really do any lasting damage to walls and can be left. When it totally surrounds a tree that's a bit different, as some intervention might be needed if it looks like its going to suffocate it. Personably I love ivy and have been happy watching it establishing itself on the walls on our previous house. We have ivy growing in the woods near this new house but none in the garden as yet.

lemongrove Sat 13-Apr-19 15:01:08

We have some ivy on our walls, but DH won’t have it on fences ( it pulls them down eventually.)
There is no harm in having ivy on brickwork but if it dies and you pull it off, it can pull off the mortar too.
If you like the ivy on the wall/walls just trim it back twice a year to keep it within bounds.

Washerwoman Tue 16-Apr-19 07:30:24

Wrens love to nest in ivy.Like a lot of birds their numbers are declining.For that reason I leave it alone in certain places along our big fence,pulling some back higher up occasionally so it doesn't become top heavy.But then I do like the look of it,and it's some more greenery in winter.

BlueBelle Tue 16-Apr-19 07:56:14