Gransnet forums

Gardening

Here’s a puzzle

(9 Posts)
BlueBelle Mon 25-Jul-22 22:35:19

This year I grew radishes they were like wood totally inedible I made sure the garden was well watered in the dry spell so any ideas ?

cornergran Mon 25-Jul-22 22:55:28

Can’t comment on radishes BlueBelle but our beans are a disaster. First failure, ever and I’ve been growing beans for over 50 years. A light crop and the pods are so tough no matter the size. I’ve experimented with letting them grow and picking them when relatively tiny. All the same, tough and relatively tasteless, Just an odd year maybe. Hope someone comes along with an explanation for us both.

J52 Mon 25-Jul-22 22:55:48

Radishes grown in nitrogen rich soil will put their growing energy into the leaves and not the bulb. We’re they small with lots of leaves.
Radish mature in about 4/5 weeks so if the bulbs have formed that’s the time to pick them, otherwise they go over and become woody.

tanith Tue 26-Jul-22 07:06:22

My beans are useless this year tough short curly and now no beans at all.

PollyDolly Tue 26-Jul-22 07:17:52

I have never had any success with radishes either. My runner beans have also been poor this year although the climbing French beans have been brilliant and are still growing.

My runner beans were irregular and tough, often with a bulge part way along the bean and the skin was really course. I put it down to the extreme heat despite watering them regularly.

Peas and mange tout are all done and the plants removed but they were prolific so can't complain about the yield.

aggie Tue 26-Jul-22 07:21:18

My sugar snap peas were/are prolific , but a bit less crisp than last year
I grow them in a large container and make sure they get plenty of water

BlueBelle Tue 26-Jul-22 07:36:57

Maybe it’s the soil J52 I grew some in a big tub with shop bought compost
I tried them at every stage from spindle up to round but awful threw them all away