Gransnet forums

Gardening

What do I use a cold frame for

(6 Posts)
HurdyGurdy Sat 04-Apr-20 17:16:33

I am really a beginner at gardening/cultivating, and thought that as we are confined to our homes and gardens, I ought to use the time to do something to cheer the garden up. So I'm starting to venture into gardening. Our garden for many years has consisted of grass, two apple trees and a rhubarb plant which resisted all attempts to kill it off. Last year I managed some tomatoes, courgettes and some half hearted raspberries.

I was given a cold frame a couple of years ago, and it's been empty and unused since then, as I've not been interested in gardening, and didn't know what to do with it anyway!

I've bought seeds to try growing some veg - carrots, onions, parsnips, tomatoes and peppers. I won't garden in the ground so everything is going in containers of some kind or another.

A lot of the seeds seem to require a propagator - is that the same as a cold frame?

Finally, I bought some strawberry plants which granddaughter and I planted before lockdown. They are in troughs, and have started to flower. Is this right? I don't know why, but I thought they'd flower later than this.

craftyone Sat 04-Apr-20 17:27:23

A cold frame is useful, I used to have one, just wooden sides and a glass top. Good for hardening off baby plants

You did well last year HG. Plants flower if they get stressed, make sure that the strawberries have enough water and keep a close eye on them for nasty vine weavil, they ate all the roots of my strawberries in troughs. Just give the tops a lttle tug, vine weavil makes the tops come away from the roots. It seems a bit early for flowering but maybe they are in a nice sunny warm spot

craftyone Sat 04-Apr-20 17:34:09