Gransnet forums

Gardening

New house and a sloping garden

(33 Posts)
Churchview Mon 25-Mar-24 20:33:18

Hello, I am new to Gransnet and am enjoying following the discussions.

I wonder if anyone can advise me on how to manage a very steep part of the garden in my new house. It is VERY steep, so steep that it's difficult to walk on, the ground is heavy clay and we are currently pulling out masses of bramble and ivy. The previous occupant of our house had neglected the area for years.

We don't need to terrace it as we have a section of flat land for sitting out and easier gardening. My idea is to fill the slope with shrubs and groundcover that will only need us to climb the slope to manage the plants twice a year or so. We look out of our windows onto the slope so we want it to be pretty, but low maintenance.

I wonder if anyone has any experience of this, any idea of good plants to use and how to water and mulch without it all running off. I've read up on this but wanted so real advice from gardeners who've experienced this.

Thank you.

lixy Mon 25-Mar-24 21:01:20

We used periwinkle to cover a slope. We used the common blue one and just put in a few plants as it spread and self-rooted really quickly. Since then periwinkles have become available in different forms and I think I'd use the variegated one if doing it again.
We underplanted it with bulbs which gradually naturalised - a variety of narcissi and daffs for the Spring, crocosmia for the Summer and Autumn.
A quick fix for this year might be some trailing/climbing nasturtiums that will give you colour, cover and time to think a bit.

Casdon Mon 25-Mar-24 21:09:17

I’ve got a steep slope down one side of my garden, have clay soil, and can tell you what I’ve learned.

Build steps in to the slope at intervals along the bank, otherwise when it’s wet you are likely to slide down and break your ankle, because it’s very slippery (and you will be up there more than twice a year).