Gransnet forums

Genealogy/memories

Funeral Wishes

(10 Posts)
grumpsy Tue 26-Jul-11 11:22:33

The 'Memories' thread interested me because I work as a Civil Funeral celebrant and, when talking to bereaved families, I find they rarely know of the early memories of their parents or grandparents. It seems such a pity that we don't pass those memories down to younger members of the family. For me, it's wonderful when the person who has died has actually written something themselves, full of memories and happy recollections. Sometimes these are written just as a reflection, sometimes as a letter to their family. I wish more people would do it as it helps to personalise a funeral ceremony so much better and it rounds out the picture of that person as an individual, reminding their family that they, too, used to be young and sometimes silly!
We are still so much in denial about death - but it's going to happen.
I think it's a kindness and a help to our families if we do something about what will be said at our funeral. I know the families I work with feel very comforted to know that what is said at the funeral is what that person really felt and really wanted to be shared.

goldengirl Tue 26-Jul-11 12:19:19

My father compiled a folder with useful information such as bank and insurance details plus what he would like at his funeral. This included a poem by his favourite poet, William Barnes and his friend who was an expert on WB and the dialect, did a fantastic reading even though it was difficult for modern ears unfamiliar with the words, to understand.

My mother told me her wishes and I'm so pleased to have been able to carry them out apart from interring her ashes. She wants them in a place quite a long way away so that will need planning.

As an only child I feel satisfied that I've done my best for my parents and really should consider now how best to help my own family before the time comes!

groovygranny Tue 26-Jul-11 12:21:16