Gransnet forums

Genealogy/memories

Help for two complete beginners?

(14 Posts)
pestcontrol Sun 18-Oct-15 09:27:15

Dear all,

Please forgive me for entering your territory - I'm not a grandparent, but writing on behalf of my mum!

My mum is very interested in trying out some family history websites. She's done some 'real life' research and has a few names of her grandparents/great grandparents, but wants to look online.

I'm trying to help her, I'm confident with the Internet but a complete novice to family history, so would really appreciate any tips you can give about how to get started. My mum wants to start with the free websites.

Has anyone used free bmd? Can you tell me how to use it? We've tried searching for a great grandfather, found a name under a district which may be him - what next?

Would you recommend any other free sites?
Could you give me tips on what to look for? E.g. if you have a name but no birth or death date, only an idea of decades?
We get on the site and then feel a bit lost.

Many thanks for any help you can offer. I may try the 'sister' mumsnet site as well (but actually lurk on this one - like your beauty advice!)

NotTooOld Sun 18-Oct-15 09:51:48