Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

Am I looking for the impossible?

(9 Posts)
Silversands Tue 15-Apr-14 11:20:09

Hi, I am a fairly newbie so not sure if I`m posting in the correct forum ?
I have three grandchildren aged 6years and twins of 15months and now that they are too big for their back facing baby car seats I have been trying to purchase two front facing car seats that would enable me to use a booster (possibly only a narrow cushion type) in the middle. I have a Fiesta which suits me size wise and don't relish the thought of having to buy a bigger car at present. Does anyone know of a narrow car seat or very narrow booster cushion I could try in the UK? How did others resolve this problem? Any thoughts on this matter would be helpful.

glammanana Tue 15-Apr-14 11:26:55

Silversands I had this problem years ago when we had 3 under 4yrs and went into Halfords for their advice and also Mothercare/ToysR.Us they where very helpful but I just can't remember what I bought as it was such a long time ago to be truthful I did have a larger car than a Fiesta so maybe I bought a standard size but it would be wothwhile enquiring.Also you could still have one in the front and two in back but I'm not sure what the regulations are nowadays.

Silversands Tue 15-Apr-14 11:59:21

Thank you for that reply. Unfortunately I went into Halfords and as soon as I mentioned three grandchildren the assistant took a sharp intake of breath and said "You are asking the impossible" never even offered to try any of the seats in my car, suggested I buy a bigger car and come back in to discuss it. I said "There must be one make of car seat that is narrower than others", assistant said "Well if you find it come back in and tell me about it!"