Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

I didn't know about honey!!

(149 Posts)
Grantasticpasta Mon 23-Jan-17 20:23:16

I am new to Gransnet, but had to ask someone. Since when did honey become dangerous??! I have a great relationship with grandkids, but got told off for giving little one (just turned 1) honey today. DIL said it with a smile, but I feel out of date. I hate to think I have put the little one at risk. What else don't I know??!!

Esspee Fri 27-Jan-17 07:45:15

Should read cornflour hmm. Bit too early for my brain to function!

Esspee Fri 27-Jan-17 07:43:02

I should make it clear for those of you who like to use "talc" that some are really cornflower based which is safe to use. Just read the label!

Esspee Fri 27-Jan-17 07:39:21

Almost forty years ago I had a battle with my mother who insisted my firstborn needed to be dusted in talc. Being a geologist and knowing how close to asbestos talc is in habit (and indeed much talc contains a percentage of asbestos)I held my ground. Many years later she did read that use of talc by women contributed to cancer and admitted I had been right to throw out all the baby powder I received in gifts.

Ana Thu 26-Jan-17 21:58:32

Crikey, what a blast from the past!

I really don't think talcum powder these days contains asbestos (can't read the link as it keeps telling me I can make a difference if I pay...)

NanKate Thu 26-Jan-17 21:38:21

Interesting article MiceElf thanks.

I still remember the lovely smell of a bathed baby smelling of Johnson's baby powder, very evocative of the 1970s.

Talcum gets sand off your feet when leaving the beach and also can stop chaffing on a hot day.

MiceElf Thu 26-Jan-17 21:00:39

www.telegraph.co.uk/women/health/can-talcum-powder-really-cause-cancer/

joinedfromtheotherside Thu 26-Jan-17 20:39:41

NanKate - I joined from MN (I was having a nose at you all talking about us mums) to tell you please don't use talc it's known to have asbestos in it ?