Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

Teaching `Times Tables

(10 Posts)
mharriet Wed 07-Mar-18 20:36:09

I'm new to gransnet - I do hope I'm doing this right. I help take care of my grandchildren 3 days a week. I've been given the task by my daughter to try and help teach my eldest grandson his times tables. A daunting task indeed seeing I find it very hard to try and keep him still for anything. I needed to share with you all a wonderful way of teaching TIMES TABLES. A good friend of mine shared it with me and after so many weeks of frustratingly trying to teach I was so happy to find it I just had to share it. It's called Table Fables. I can't quite remember the web address but I hope you will be able to find it. Do let me know how you get on if anyone reads this.

Blinko Thu 08-Mar-18 09:59:59

Hello and welcome, mharriet. What a lovely, helpful first post. Can't comment on the Times tables thing as my GCs (that's GN speak for GrandChildren) are a bit older and their mums are teachers. Nice to hear from you, and I'm sure you'll get others with younger GCs joining in.

Franbern Thu 08-Mar-18 10:17:26

When my children were small, we used to chant tables in the car. Think they preferred doing even that to me trying to sing!!!!

M0nica Thu 08-Mar-18 10:52:25

Franbern me too. DGC cannot do this as they live only a short walk from school, but they are drilled in them at school and get tested at home when a tables test is flagged up.

For those interested the site mharriet is referring to, is, I think, tablefables.net/public/Instructions.aspx As she says it is easy to find online and should help many a weary parent or grandparent try to tie down active GC to help them with table learning

Cherrytree59 Thu 08-Mar-18 10:56:32

Thank you and welcome mharriet smile
I will check it out my GDS started reception class last September,
I'm sure its never to young to ease children in without it feeling like a chore for them or us!

Cherrytree59 Thu 08-Mar-18 10:58:04