Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

Visitation rights

(7 Posts)
Nitecafe Thu 03-Jan-19 04:51:46

Hi Everyone, I'm new at this so here it goes. I have been awarded visitation rights for my 2 granddaughters for 4 hours a week. My daughter is so angry that the courts awarded me the visitation. She came into a large amount of money and has decided to move 350 miles away. She never told me that she would be moving or that she inherited $400,000 dollars (I learned this info from a friend of mind) I'm 70 and don't drive and live on social security. She will be telling the courts that she wants to move do to a job transfer. (she makes $120,000 a year) I am so afraid that I will lose my visitation with my grandchildren. I can not afford a lawyer and they tell me that grandparents are not allow to get a lawyer appointed by the courts. Does anyone out there have any advice for me. I would really appreciate any advice someone might have.

absent Thu 03-Jan-19 05:10:59

As the figures you give are in dollars, it seems likely that you are not living in the UK – probably the USA. The laws in Britain and the USA concerning children and who may or may not be a part of their lives are, I think, rather different. Gransnet is a UK-based networking site so most of us will be unable to help you with legal matters, although I am sure there are many who may offer moral and emotional support. I think there are some other American members and perhaps they will be in a position to advise you. I am sorry to hear that your daughter feels angry towards you, although you say little about how you feel about her and why that situation has arisen. I am sorry too, that you are having difficulty seeing your granddaughters.

Smileless2012 Thu 03-Jan-19 10:55:16

As absent has posted, for those of us in the UK we cannot offer a legal insight to your situation.