Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

grandparents to unmarried couples children

(10 Posts)
madeleine45 Mon 15-Mar-21 15:46:50

My concern is that many people do not choose to get married and that is their choice. However unless they put something in a will and their wishes in writing, should the worst things happens and the couple are killed in an accident ,particularly if you are the mans parent ,you can end up having no right to visit or be in touch with your grandchild. You may have looked after them for the majority of the time , taking them to school or looking after them on an regular basis, Yet in such a sad situation you may find that you have no right to keep being part of their lives or be able to say you know what the parents wanted and be able to ensure that their wishes are followed. You can get on well with everyone and no major problems but I have been a volunteer hospital car driver for 10 years and hear some very sad stories of this type of thing happening. Young people can see themselves as invincible and they do not need to make a will , or they say they dont have enough money to warrant making a will, but having clear instructions regarding their children and also their wishes to be an organ donor is a much more important thing to discuss and make decisions about and at least you are clear as to what the person really wanted. If it was seen as something that everyone should do as an adult , it would ensure that some thought is given to these possibilities.

keepingquiet Mon 15-Mar-21 15:52:39

I'm not quite sure what you are saying here? If my children pass way then if they are not married (as my son) then anything he owns goes to the government? Is that what you are saying? The child, due to parents not being married, would not be entitled to my son's estate?
I'm not sure that's right.

Babyshark Mon 15-Mar-21 17:18:42

Being married provides no guarantee that your contact with a grandchild will be maintained if your ac child sadly dies?