Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

Help! I’m new at this!

(66 Posts)
Newnan1 Thu 21-Oct-21 09:43:34

Hi, I’m hoping for some advice - I am a new GP & I would love to see more of my GC. I am a paternal GP & stupidly hadn’t thought that this would make a difference! I have been feeling a little sidelined, but after reading posts on this site & thinking rationally, I can understand how that would happen & that it isn’t personal. What I am really struggling with is how to word things when I message to see if I can visit. I am a terrible people pleaser & this is my constant downfall, I also don’t want people to feel pressure, so I usually say ‘if you need me I am free today!’ What I really mean is ‘can I come & visit’
How can I be more direct without making people feel like they have to say yes?!

Bluebellwould Sun 31-Oct-21 01:59:22

I have 3 sons and 5 grandchildren. I said to each of them the offer of help is always there, just let me know if you need it. I then stepped right back and let them get on with their lives. I just remember my very pushy and intrusive in laws so I’ve never pushed for contact. Just keep everything very relaxed and be grateful for what you get.

Daisy79 Sun 31-Oct-21 01:51:47

*my apologies for forgetting to use quotation marks. This was in response to MamaCaz’s question of whether it was really so wrong to want to go out with the pram. Asking/offering once is very different than bringing it at every visit or nearly every visit.

Daisy79 Sun 31-Oct-21 01:45:38

I was asked and pressured every single visit. I began to dread visits because I constantly felt like I needed to defend and protect the decisions we alone were entitled to make. Asking once is one thing. Constantly asking, which puts the parents in an uncomfortable spot, is very different.

Hithere Thu 28-Oct-21 13:05:59

In fact, you may see them less than pre baby as they are busier than before

Norah Thu 28-Oct-21 12:43:25