Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

Strikes

(40 Posts)
1987H2001M2002Inanny Mon 30-Jan-23 17:30:53

Has anyone asked this? Are any of you Grandarents having to look after your GC because of teachers strikes this week? Do you think teachers are right doing this ?

GagaJo Tue 31-Jan-23 21:28:10

Granbabies5

I qualified as a teacher but having taught for 10 years I then joined my husband in starting our own business. It all comes down to what people consider a “good” pension. We worked hard for ourselves for 25 years and built up our own pension to enable us to retire before state pension age. We forfeited holidays along the way and could never strike for more pay. We “cut our cloth to suit our needs” these days.
Some people expect too much , I think everyone should have a go at generating their own income and then they may appreciate the benefits they have.

I'm a teacher. I generate my own income. Earn 2/3 of what I used to earn in school, as a teacher/tutor. And I do it for about 1/6 of the work.

Teaching in British state schools is hell. And the hell isn't the students. It's a 40 hour week admin job, plus teaching hours on top.

I love teaching. I'm my best person in front of a class of 15 year olds. But I can't work a 70 hour week and do a good job.

Granbabies5 Tue 31-Jan-23 20:39:07

I qualified as a teacher but having taught for 10 years I then joined my husband in starting our own business. It all comes down to what people consider a “good” pension. We worked hard for ourselves for 25 years and built up our own pension to enable us to retire before state pension age. We forfeited holidays along the way and could never strike for more pay. We “cut our cloth to suit our needs” these days.
Some people expect too much , I think everyone should have a go at generating their own income and then they may appreciate the benefits they have.

Grantanow Tue 31-Jan-23 10:21:53