Gransnet forums

Health

bp reading

(40 Posts)
travelsafar Wed 14-Jun-17 18:30:11

Just gotback from surgery after BP tested. Got a reading of 144/71 am not sure if that is good or not. Obviously do not require meds but wondering if it should be lower. If so what can i do to help reduce it, does anyone know?

tanith Thu 15-Jun-17 22:18:15

I have had high BP for years and take 2 meds for it then recently had my second hip-replacement and had to stop taking Naproxen for the surgery. My BP has been consistently 125/80 since my surgery. I'm now taking no BP meds and am really angry that I was stupid enough not to realise that the Naproxen was the cause of my high BP. Then again I'm not a doctor.

My hip surgeon was chuffed that he not only cured my hip he also cured my High BP..smile

If you are taking Naproxen and have High BP it might be the cause. Ask for an alternative.

marmar01 Thu 15-Jun-17 21:46:26

my OH had such high reading the Drs thought the machine was broken, he wont take tablets(MEN)!! but i did convince him to start taking garlic oil capsules, the improvement is amazing,back to normalish readings

Bbnan Thu 15-Jun-17 21:33:40

ooonna is correct this is ideal reading with medication I manage to average that s....I once had a stressful day very long story... I passed out and reading was 190/85 had to stay in hospital till it went down to above reading took 3 days....a very very scary thing...very warm weather does not help it at all.

janeyjane Thu 15-Jun-17 20:52:47

Hi I work in a surgery & target BP depends on whether you have any chronic illness, in which case most places like it to be below 140. I think being just over 140 is going to be OK if you are otherwise fit & healthy. There is no normal but then who is normal??

ooonana Thu 15-Jun-17 18:21:18