Gransnet forums

Health

Chostochondritis

(11 Posts)
paddyann Fri 22-Feb-19 14:10:18

Think thats how its spelt .Anyone have experience of this ,what the long term effects of it are and if there's a way to help with the symptoms.
My D was rushed to hospital with a suspected heart attack and after 4 hours of tests this is what the doctor has said it is.
She has multiple health problems already so she could well do without this on top.Can anyone give advice on how to deal with it,is there anything that can be done to get rid of it?All advice welcome .

kittylester Fri 22-Feb-19 14:29:32

That is sad paddyann, I am so sorry.

I am afraid I have no experience but didn't want to read and run.

Someone who knows something will be along soon, I'm sure.

It's awful when our children suffer isn't it?

MiniMoon Fri 22-Feb-19 14:44:26

I once suffered from Bornholm's disease, which is a condition related to chostochondritis. I was advised to take pain relief and rest as I was experiencing muscle aches and fatigue along with the chest pain. It went away by itself, but it was horrible at the time. I had two little children at the time, so resting was nearly impossible.
I have sympathy with your DD, I remember the pain. flowers for you daughter.

Cold Fri 22-Feb-19 14:49:15

Both myself and DD1 suffer from this condition - when it flares up it is very painful when the joints of the rib cage become inflamed.

There is no cure but in my experience cold, and especially damp and windy weather makes it worse as the pain in the joint's connective tissue gets worse.

Some things that are worth trying:
- Painkillers
- anti-inflammatory tablets such as Ibuprofen (I cannot take these but DD does)
- anti-inflammatory creams and gels such as Neurofen/Movelat gel or Aspergcreme
- warm baths
- Tens or Paingone pens

It is trial and error so hope she finds something that works

paddyann Fri 22-Feb-19 15:01:27