Gransnet forums

Health

Total hip replacement

(23 Posts)
Fennel Fri 10-May-19 18:03:56

Glad to hear that dragonfly. As charleygirl says we're all different. And as your daughter is relatively young she will recover more quickly.
It's a wonderful operation, whatever our age. At 70yrs I had to slowly rebuild my muscular strength, walking a little further each day.

Charleygirl5 Fri 10-May-19 12:58:56

dragonfly that is good to hear- we all behave differently.

dragonfly46 Fri 10-May-19 12:50:51

My DD is much better now and getting out and about with crutches and doesn’t need painkillers.

BradfordLass72 Fri 10-May-19 09:50:20

It took me just 6 weeks to be back to normal, although I had been walking with 2 sticks for nearly two months prior to the op and in a lot of pain.

My doctor told me to take Panadol every 4 hours during the day as it is cumulative. I only needed a mild herbal sleeping tablet for the first week.

I only needed the Panadol for a month.

I did my physio exercises every day and had my staples out after a week.

At that time, I had 12 stairs to climb but found I could do it sideways holding onto the rail for dear life and putting the 'good' foot down first.

My lovely surgeon (now working in Truro) said, 'We have absolutely no reason to assume bigger, heavier people will recover more slowly than thinner ones. In fact my experience has been the opposite.'

And so it proved.

Humbertbear Thu 09-May-19 14:32:14

I had a complete hip replacement and came home after three days having been taught to do stairs. Occupational health gave me raised loo seats, blocks for the armchair and a perching stool for the bathroom. I had absolutely no post op pain. I used crutches for the first week or so and a stick for 6 weeks. I worked very hard at my physio and made a full and quick recovery. I’ve never looked back. One thing - sleeping on your back is almost impossible but necessary.

Fennel Thu 09-May-19 12:47:11