Gransnet forums

Health

Overcoming barriers to exercising over 50

(13 Posts)
Longrunkaren Sat 26-Dec-20 14:46:10

I just read the gransnet exercise survey and was very upset to hear of so many women reporting being too embarrassed about their bodies to exercise (I assume that means in public). I am passionate about the benefits of all forms of exercise for slowing down the ageing process, improving wellbeing and bringing a sense of purpose. I am a PhD student researching this topic, have been a runner all my life and and am also a running coach for more than 20 years. I would love to help people overcome their embarrassment and find the motivation to exercise, especially outdoors. We need to express solidarity with anyone trying to improve their health and wellbeing by exercising. So please believe me: the only thought I and many like me have when we see overweight, slow, older or out-of-shape people exercising is "good for you - you are getting out there and doing it"! Don't let self-consciousness stop you doing something that is SO good for your health and wellbeing.

icanhandthemback Sat 26-Dec-20 14:51:12

Pain is my biggest hurdle which I think happens to many over 50’s. I have spent a fortune on a pedal assisted electric bike but every bump in the road is painful. I will persevere but it doesn’t actually make exercise attractive at all.

M0nica Sun 27-Dec-20 08:02:53

I never realised that there were any barriers to exercise over 50.

I live in a village and everyday I see women of all ages and shapes out running. I do Tai Chi and did, pilates until COVID and swim on occasion. Lots of women - and men - do all of those and I also see many other older and old people at the gym, doing other exercise.