Gransnet forums

Health

Whooping Cough Vaccine Controversy 1980's

(44 Posts)
aussiedreamer Tue 05-Jan-21 16:11:51

Hi! I'm new to Gransnet. Does anyone remember what the Whooping Cough vaccine controversy in the 1970's & 80's was all about? My 2 weren't vaccinated because, as far as I recall the guidance given was not to have them vaccinated if there is a family history of seizures. I'm asking because our daughter is now expecting her first baby & none of the midwives have ever heard about it. Can anyone shed any light on this please?

Mollygo Wed 06-Jan-21 12:53:52

DD1 was vaccinated, and I was not worried, but our new doctor advised against it for DD2.
She had whooping cough when she was three. It went on for weeks and we hardly slept. I’ve never been so scared in my life-I thought she would die and it would have been my fault. DD1 didn’t catch it despite being in close contact, which made me feel even more guilty.

annodomini Wed 06-Jan-21 12:45:36

It was only after my two sons, born 1971 and 73 had had all their inoculations that I heard about the controversy over whooping cough vaccine. When my DS2, aged just 2, was in hospital to have surgery on his bowel, I met another mum whose little boy had only recently started having seizures, but it was some time, after I'd lost touch, that I heard about the controversy and put two and two together. If mine had been a bit younger...

Sarnia Wed 06-Jan-21 12:26:23

I have an idea the whooping cough jab was being linked with autism. I know the MMR jab in the 90's certainly was. Autism usually shows itself around the 18 month development stage and is the time when these inoculations were administered. Anti-vaxxers were adding 2+2 and coming up with anything except 4.

Alegrias1 Wed 06-Jan-21 11:35:27

Genty

Thousands of babies may have been mistakenly injected with incorrect vaccines in the 1970s, The Observer has discovered.