Gransnet forums

Health

Whooping Cough Vaccine Controversy 1980's

(43 Posts)
aussiedreamer Tue 05-Jan-21 16:11:51

Hi! I'm new to Gransnet. Does anyone remember what the Whooping Cough vaccine controversy in the 1970's & 80's was all about? My 2 weren't vaccinated because, as far as I recall the guidance given was not to have them vaccinated if there is a family history of seizures. I'm asking because our daughter is now expecting her first baby & none of the midwives have ever heard about it. Can anyone shed any light on this please?

BigBertha1 Tue 05-Jan-21 16:14:49

I did hear about it as my daughter was born in the early 70s. Its recommended now and I am not aware of any controversy but if there is one someone on here will know all about it!

Galaxy Tue 05-Jan-21 16:16:40

My brother didnt receive a vaccine in the 70s but I thought it was measles or mumps, it was definitely due to a vaccine scare. He was consequently ill during his o levels.

Smileless2012 Tue 05-Jan-21 16:19:24

Hi aussiedreamer and welcome to GNsmile.

Yes I remember it. We were worried about having our first child vaccinated because when he was about 2 months old he got an eye infection that required drops. One time when we were administering them he fainted, he was out cold.

Our GP kept asking if we thought it had been a seizure but as there were no physical indicators like eye rolling or shaking we didn't think it had been.

It never happened again but did make us very wary. Our GP at that time was brilliant and having been told that of course it was our decision I asked him what he would do. He said in our position he wouldn't give the vaccine to his child, so we didn't and because of what happened when he was a baby, we didn't have his brother vaccinated either.

I'm surprised that none of your D's midwives have ever heard about it but then again it was nearly 40 years ago.

Santana Tue 05-Jan-21 16:32:52

I don't remember anything either and my eldest is 40, so timing would be right.