Gransnet forums

Health

Antidepressant experiences please .

(24 Posts)
Tawny12 Sun 15-May-22 20:11:34

Good Evening,

I am new to Gransnet so am learning how to navigate the site .

I have been advised to start antidepressants by the GP as I have anxiety and depression due to loss of parents who I gave up work to care for amongst other things .
I have lost my appetite completely too . The GP suggested Sertraline or Amitryptiline ? Is anyone on either of these ?
I am very concerned about initial side effects .
Thank you .

CaravanKate Sun 15-May-22 21:37:43

Hi, sorry to hear about your situation. I was prescribed amitriptyline and propranolol for anxiety and depression. I stopped the propranolol after a few months as it was causing me to hallucinate while sleeping, I was hearing voices also. This all seemed worth tolerating as it really helped with the anxiety however I then developed tinnitus so stopped taking this one. The amitriptyline I take just a small dose of. It helps my osteoarthritis and sleeping somewhat. The downside is it makes my eyes really dry so I can no longer wear contact lenses. Anxiety returned since I stopped the propranolol so will need to see what else is available. Hope whatever you choose to do helps.

MayBee70 Sun 15-May-22 21:40:11