Gransnet forums

House and home

Is it worth recovering sofas?

(141 Posts)
agapanthus Sat 25-Feb-12 16:55:30

Hi! I'm new to this so here goes.
We desparately need new loose covers on our two sofas , which are about 10 years old , but one of them has a 'saggy' seat (because its in a fav position), and the feather cushions on the back are droopy. They were Collins and Hayes . I was going to get a quote for new covers ,but apart from the environmental issue I wonder if it will be worth it financially. Any views or similar expeiences please?

Stansgran Fri 05-Feb-16 20:16:50

I need a rather higher seat than our low level chairs etc. Does anyone make elegant furniture, modern stuff? there is nothing except seats for the elderly with wings and antibacterial finish suitable for nursing homes! I'm not going to pee on the seat yet. I have delcor furniture and I'm thinking I ought to get it refreshed and recovered.

mumofmadboys Fri 05-Feb-16 19:48:31

We bought a 3 piece suite second hand ( or more!!) when we were first married in 1981. It cost £25. Since then we have had it reupholsted three times and it is still going strong. Had new cushions each time. It was not cheap- £600 first time,£900 second time and £1600 last time. We like the simple shape of it and try our best to avoid putting too much in landfill.

Elegran Fri 05-Feb-16 18:48:00

This thread was started in 2012. It goes dormant for months and then a s**a seller finds it and posts spam to try to get us to buy - no-one ever does so they are wasting their time. Their spammy post is deleted instantly, then the thread goes into hibernation again. Round and round goes the b****y great wheel but no-one gets any satisfaction.

Ah well, I suppose it keeps them out of mischief elsewhere. I just wonder where they find a reference to this page? In some trade mag somewhere? Some list of elderly suckers who love to buy s***s? Do they pass our name round at s**a conventions?