Gransnet forums

Legal, pensions and money

Putting a house in trust (Scotland) to avoid care costs

(20 Posts)
Eleanorre Tue 05-Mar-13 10:18:39

We have had a financial advisor look at our portfolio of shares etc. and one thing he has suggested is putting our house in trust to keep it from being sold for the cost of care. The trust would be set up by a well known firm of solicitors so no shady dealings. It would cost about four grand to set it up but it would save money on the cost of executing our wills as that sum would be taken out of the equation .
Apart from the moral issues of whether we should pay for our care ourselves which we struggle with , has anyone done this or have experience of it. We live in Scotland by the way. My daughter has bad ME so I would like to think we could leave a legacy for her that would help her in her later years as she will never work.

FlicketyB Tue 05-Mar-13 10:46:01

I have no direct knowledge of how the law in Scotland varies from the law in England on this matter, but Social Security law is universal for the whole of the UK and that states that if you dispose of any assets, including your house, by either giving it to your children or putting it in trust, or any other way with the express purpose of avoiding paying for care the local authority retain the legal right to challenge these disposals, and potentially grab these funds. If you want to avoid this you need to put your house in trust probably in middle life, and have good provable reasons for doing this.

As well as this if you put your house in a trust or give it to your children you will be expected to pay the market rent for it into the trust. It is not possible to continue to live in your house rent free or for a peppercorn rent after you have put it into a trust. Otherwise it will again be assumed that you did this to avoid care costs and the local authority will act as if you still own the property.