Gransnet forums

Legal, pensions and money

Nectar Card Fraud

(12 Posts)
Desdemona Thu 22-Nov-18 15:52:14

I have been saving my Nectar points for several months as I shop at Sainsburys and was planning to use them towards my Christmas shop. Last week I discovered that my balance was really low, and upon checking found out that somebody had spent £50 in an Argos store (I have no idea which branch, Nectar could't tell me.) Nectar are currently investigating - meanwhile if any of you have a Nectar card with any significant account on it, it might be worth checking your balance, as upon searching the internet it would appear Nectar Card fraud is very common.

Emmaline Tue 18-Dec-18 16:42:40

similar experience with the Costa card as my points were taken in two goes. I had been saving them up to spend when my family came to visit .. thankfully when I contacted them I was able to prove my point and they refunded them without any fuss.

Jane43 Sat 22-Dec-18 15:52:30

I read about this type of fraud recently and as you say Desdemona it seems on the increase. It must be very frustrating for you to save them all year then have this happen. I wonder how it happens as I have never used Nectar points any other way than swiping the card in store and paying for groceries this way. Surely they must have to use a password? I hope you get refunded.

PinkSweetPea Tue 15-Jan-19 13:47:38

I had this happen a few years ago, same store Argos and around £45 taken, Nectar said they would investigate, I did get my money back plus they gave me extra Nectar points. I now use my points when they get to around £5-£8 not risking it.

silverlining48 Tue 15-Jan-19 14:13:17

We have about £70 on ours but each time we try to use them when buying shopping it’s refused. We were told to ring and told it was sorted out but that has not been the case. Thanks fir the heads up.

Nanabilly Tue 15-Jan-19 14:15:56

I had the same happen with my Tesco Clubcard points once .. £70 worth. They replaced them