Gransnet forums

Meet ups/where are you?

grandparents alone and estranged from family

(15 Posts)
marylane1996 Fri 02-Jan-15 13:02:02

Hi i am very new to gransnet and lost my husband years ago. Very difficult retiring as although my daughter is only a half hour drive away she is very possessive of my grandchildren so i only see them monthly if i am lucky!! Work as a volunteer in a local school which i love but wd be great to have contact other grans on their own to chat.

Eloethan Fri 02-Jan-15 13:29:50

Hello marylane1996. I hope you had a relaxing Christmas. Sorry to hear that you see your grandchildren less than you would like but it's good that you enjoy volunteering in a school.

Rather than seeking one-to-one chats with Gransnetters, it might be better in the first instance to view - and perhaps contribute to - the various threads on here so that you can identify the people with whom you might have most in common. Also, although it is nice to form personal relationships with one or two people, it is also quite enjoyable to be part of the wider forum. Even people whose views you find you often disagree with can be supportive, funny and interesting.

TerriBull Fri 02-Jan-15 13:56:09

Hello and welcome marylane, sorry to hear about your plight. There is a thread on GN called "cut out of their lives" which speaks for itself, although fortunately you are not entirely in that situation. There are some very sad stories on that thread, but the contributors do offer a lot of mutual support. Equally I am sure you will be welcomed on to any of the other forums that you opt to contribute to.

kittylester Fri 02-Jan-15 14:25:40

Hi Marylane and welcome to our fabulous community! sunshine

I think what Eloethan says is worth taking on board. Read lots of other threads and join in!

There are sometimes local meetups to - where do you live?

Anya Fri 02-Jan-15 14:34:09

Welcome Marylane

Grannyknot Fri 02-Jan-15 14:50:23