Gransnet forums

Menopause

Anyone else have to reset back to zero after nearly going a year period free?

(14 Posts)
Mattie18 Fri 27-Sep-19 16:40:14

Hello
I am 54 nearly 55 and until yesterday had gone 10 months with no period. I know I have to go 12 months to be officially menopausal so was nearly there ?. I have had no hot flashes and got quite bad PMT ( sore nipples ) the 2 weeks prior so am assuming it’s a hormonal bleed. I am overweight so am probably producing too much oestrogen. Has anybody else gone for this amount of time late perimenopausal and had to restart the clock?

Aidylnut62 Sun 29-Sep-19 23:27:17

Just happened to me yesterday after 9 months

Katyj Mon 30-Sep-19 07:05:49

Yes me too periods stopped at 51 then 18 months later a light period, then nothing else.I'm overweight too.

Hollyhock1 Tue 11-Aug-20 08:50:13

Hello, I'm new to this wonderful place!
This has happened to me today!! I'm 55, 56 in October, and had my last period in May 2019 followed in August 2019 by 3 days of spotting. This month I've had sore boobs, been a right mard arse and started spotting a couple of days ago, only to wake up today with a blood stained bed and what appears to be a proper period, almost a year since my last one. I'm a bit concerned about it but don't know whether this is a normal occurrence or whether I should seek my GPs advice. Any help would be much appreciated.

annsixty Tue 11-Aug-20 10:15:44

My 55 year old D, has just gone through this twice.
Lots of other symptoms but the periods again have depressed her.
Like me, she always had a very irregular menstrual cycle and also has PCOS.
It happens to so many I don’t think it is anything to worry about but get checked if you are worried.

Nortsat Tue 11-Aug-20 10:19:21

It’s always worth getting checked.
I had something similar, 6 years ago and was found to have fibroids.

Don’t wait, get checked. I know it’s tiresome but just do it ...
?

silverlining48 Tue 11-Aug-20 10:47:38