Gransnet forums

News & politics

Could this really be the end of the United Kingdom?

(50 Posts)
GracesGranMK2 Fri 17-Mar-17 21:21:20

With Nicola Sturgeon probably being put in the position where the only referendum she can run would be an advisory referendum as the English Parliament will not allow the Scottish Government to call one on the basis of the last one, Northern Ireland in turmoil and Wales not thinking of the balance sheet when it came to the EU referendum could this be the end of the United Kingdom - the end of Empirical Britain?

Ana Fri 17-Mar-17 21:24:29

Wales not thinking of the balance sheet?

Is that what the people of Wales were supposed to be doing, rather than voting on whether they wanted to stay in the EU or leave it? confused

LumpySpacedPrincess Fri 17-Mar-17 21:27:14

Yey, Little England here we come!

I remember the last vote a few years back, we had to hold back on our plans (I worked in a school) to see how it turned out. I was so relieved when Scotland voted remain, here we are again though.

It will break my heart if the UK splits apart but it's up to Scotland, their call, i don't blame them one bit.

Cindersdad Sat 18-Mar-17 07:32:26

The UK is Divided because the Establishment considers itself more than the whole. The Scots, Northerners, Welsh and many other parts of the population see the South being favoured and don't think it is fair. Brexit gave the people a chance to kick the Establishment; this showed divisions right across the country when EU membership was blamed for many wrongs and the good things from the EU largely ignored.

nigglynellie Sat 18-Mar-17 08:30:13

Empirical Britain?!!!! I don't really think the UK considers itself an Empire!!! confused

Iam64 Sat 18-Mar-17 08:45:56