Gransnet forums

News & politics

1 in 8 plan to retire in 2018 with no pension

(33 Posts)
LaraGransnet (GNHQ) Wed 28-Mar-18 09:46:59

We noticed this news story out today and wondered what gransnetters think? When did you start saving into your pension? Was it too late or about right? Do you think younger people these days are more or less aware of how much they need to save towards a pension?

Teetime Wed 28-Mar-18 09:54:49

As a young nurse I didn't want to pay into the pension but there was no option. At the time I could have doe with the money as the wages were very low and in my case all went in childcare. I am so glad I did pay now though. It was the same for DH in local government. Although people may think we had a cosy deal it was a huge chunk out of very low pay for both of us but we are enjoying the benefits now.

Lyndylou Wed 28-Mar-18 09:59:32

I read the article and it states that these 1 in 8 are actually retiring to take their State pension or living off savings. I understand that the State pension is not enough to do everything we want to do but it is still an income, so the headline to this is incorrect. It should read 1 in 8 plan to retire in 2018 with no private or company pension.

Its bad enough, in my view, that the State Pension is now reclassified as a benefit, without it being downgraded to being no pension at all.

Lyndylou Wed 28-Mar-18 10:07:53

I actually didn't start a company pension until my 40s, mainly due to moving around temporary jobs with my RAF husband. I'm really glad I did as it means two equal payments a month with my State pension, and my partner never paid into any pension scheme at all so he only has the State pension. (He does seem determined to work till he drops though!) However despite me having all the relevant NI years paid, he still gets nearly twice as much State Pension as me!

Charleygirl Wed 28-Mar-18 10:14:04