Gransnet forums

News & politics

Alcohol at work

(87 Posts)
LadyHonoriaDedlock Wed 25-May-22 22:09:49

Serious question. Have you ever attended an event in your workplace that involved both work and alcohol? I don't mean routinely going for drinks in the pub after work, nor do I mean leaving dos that are held after hours in the pub.

I have worked in a variety of offices, and in none of them was drinking alcohol in the workplace permitted. I appreciate that this may happen, but I don't believe it's very common. Even gatherings within the office involving a speech from the boss and maybe the presentation of a gift have never involved drinking alcoholic toasts

I feel very queasy at the idea of the drunken party culture right at the heart of our national government, and the evident willingness of the man in charge to blame everybody but himself. A little more of Harry Truman's "The buck stops here" principle is needed I think.

ElaineI Wed 25-May-22 22:14:34

No never. I was a nurse. Events such as leaving, retiring - staff provided food, coffee, tea, juice - never alcohol. You couldn't go back to looking after patients if you had drunk alcohol.

Charleygirl5 Wed 25-May-22 22:16:34

Alcohol and work where I worked would have meant instant dismissal. If somebody was leaving those working would not have been allowed to have one glass of wine.

That is why those clowns should do the decent thing.

Sago Wed 25-May-22 22:18:43

Our daughter was really shocked the first time she went to America on business, her London companies HO was in Silicone Valley, staff were in shorts and flip flops, the staff kitchen had fridges full of wine and beer!
She thought there must be a forthcoming party, no it was there for the taking all day any day!

Catterygirl Wed 25-May-22 22:21:45

I worked in the City for 20 years where alcohol was normal for a celebration. I am not saying that was the right thing.

Harris27 Wed 25-May-22 22:24:04

I work with children so it’s definitely a no go!