Gransnet forums

Pedants' corner

Member's or members' ?

(16 Posts)
Elegran Thu 11-Aug-11 15:31:03

DS has a nice new website promoting his company, which I approve of on almost all counts (website and company both), but we disagree about his use of "member's area" where I think he should have "members' area" He argues that each member can have his/her own page, which makes it an area for each (singular) member, but I say the whole area is common to all (plural) members".

Any comments from our experts? The whole page is at technolistic.com/portfolio.html if you want to see the context. It is about two thirds of the way down the page.

absentgrana Thu 11-Aug-11 15:44:36

Members' area I think, otherwise, following your DS's logic, it should be member's areas – and even that is iffy.

susiecb Thu 11-Aug-11 15:44:59

I agree with you - its the area that belongs to the members.

Acheron Thu 11-Aug-11 16:04:55

I'm no expert but I am a pedant....I would say members' because it applies to all the members.

jangly Thu 11-Aug-11 16:12:26

Of course its members'.

hmm

jackyann Thu 11-Aug-11 16:28:04

Doesn't it look wonderful? And I think it must take a lot of intelligence & drive to do something like that. I also doubt that anyone using it properly will notice, and you should probably be grateful that he even attempts apostrophes!

However, to answer the question:
Members' area
OR member's individual areas

However, I think it would be clearer to say "....provison of a secure area for individual members..."

Don't expect he wants to hear that!!!

jangly Thu 11-Aug-11 16:29:55

Oh yes. That's lovely.

hmm

jangly Thu 11-Aug-11 16:30:36

the website that is.

WWOTN Thu 11-Aug-11 19:27:05

isn't members' possessive and member's a short way of saying member is? Always was confused.

jangly Thu 11-Aug-11 19:35:21

Or - member his = member's. comma in the air to show something has been left out.

I remeber this from infants' school. hmm

Yes!

Infants'