Pedants' corner

Help from native speaker, please

(13 Posts)
Greta Mon 28-Oct-19 11:19:57

Would you say:

There was an incident in town and the police as called
or
There was an incidence ...

I thought 'incident' was an adjective. Does it double up as a noun? I have googled but it is not very clear.

MissAdventure Mon 28-Oct-19 11:23:39

I would say incident, but I think either could be right.

Then again, I'm no expert on this kind of stuff.

BlueBelle Mon 28-Oct-19 11:38:13

‘Incident’ in that context I thought was a common noun as it’s a happening in the same way you could say there was a fair in town or a bus in town

wildswan16 Mon 28-Oct-19 11:39:01

An "incident" is an instance of something happening; an event or occurrence. So incident would be correct in your example.

"Incidence" is an amount or value - the occurrence, rate, or frequency of something e.g. there is an increased incidence of violent crime.

Hope that makes sense and is correct!

ladymuck Mon 28-Oct-19 12:00:04

There was an incident in town and the police were called, is correct. 'Police' is a plural noun, incident is a singular noun.

Greta Mon 28-Oct-19 12:40:38

Thank you. I'm helping a German student of English. She has written: There was an incident in town and the police was called.

I'll leave 'incident' but change 'was' to 'were'

Callistemon Mon 28-Oct-19 13:16:11

Incident is a noun

Police is a collective noun; collective nouns can be treated as singular or plural. However, police is almost always treated as a plural noun.

Callistemon Mon 28-Oct-19 13:19:47

Ps you may use incident as an adjective but it is not as often used as such.
In that sentence it is being used as a noun.

Elegran Mon 28-Oct-19 13:24:51

Agreed, There was an incident (single noun for an occurrence of some sort) in town and the police (plural) were called You would use the (single noun) incidence for the (non-specific) quantity or number of cases or occurrences of something, a bit like frequency .