Gransnet forums

Pets

My dog

(18 Posts)
roseyone Mon 24-Dec-12 13:18:31

I have a dog aged 7 since my hubby died 2 years ago he has been so clingy to me and hates it when I go out. I think its called separation syndrome. I am new to this GN site and wonder if anyone can give me advisethanks

roseyone Mon 24-Dec-12 13:26:24

I have a dog aged 7 since my hubby died 2 years ago he has been so clingy to me and hates it when I go out. I think its called separation syndrome. I am new to this GN site and wonder if anyone can give me advisethanks

Nonu Mon 24-Dec-12 13:37:28

I cannot really help you Roseyone , but welcome anyway , and enjoy smile

Ylil Mon 24-Dec-12 13:51:20

You can get pheromone thingies that plug in, they release mummy dog hormone smells which might comfort your dog when you have to go out. Or you could try leaving the dog for short times, come back in and make a fuss etc, making each time a bit longer.

Anne58 Mon 24-Dec-12 13:51:32

Welcome! I think one of the things that is recommended in these situations is making absences very short initially, and giving a lot of praise on your return, but could well be wrong!

whenim64 Mon 24-Dec-12 13:53:44

Hi roseyone. It's called separation anxiety, which lots of puppies have. It can be managed by giving lots of cuddles, putting things like a woollie that has your scent in his bed, leaving him a treat each time you go out of the door (do it assertively, or he'll pick up that you're anxious about him), return within a few minutes and gradually increase the time you're out. Leave something like a Kong rubber toy which you can put little treats inside, or smear peanut butter in it, as that will keep him occupied whilst you're out, too. Should work within a few weeks.

nanapug Mon 24-Dec-12 13:57:10