Gransnet forums

Pets

Home cooking for pooch?

(24 Posts)
MadLinda222 Thu 01-Jun-17 11:31:27

Hello smile

I was hoping to get some advice on what everyone thinks of home cooking for my 2 dogs?

They will eat the food from the vet (somewhat grudgingly) but absolutely fall upon anything I make for them, tails wagging and excited for more! Seeing as I have the time and energy I am looking into cooking more for them and giving less of the dry kibble.

Has anyone experimented with this sort of thing at home? or am I just being a crazy dog-lady!? grin

whitewave Thu 01-Jun-17 11:44:55

Well, we always cooked chicken ir minced beef or fish for our dog. The we watched Trust me im a vet who said that home cooking is fine but you are almost certsinly misding out on some minerals/vitamins.
So now we are buying a high quality dog food which he loves.

Saying that the programme said that price does not equal quality and you should feed tbem a complete variety.

You pays your money and takes your choice!!!!confused

Alima Thu 01-Jun-17 11:44:59

My Mum used to have a Shitzu called Theo. He was a very fussy little chap and wouldn't eat dog food. Mum used to buy him fresh chicken every week, don't know how many, and boil them up for him. Sans bones of course. He literally lived on chicken and a little Winalot. Healthy little soul. There weren't the ranges of canine vitamins around then but I suppose if your dogs like the food you give them and they get all the required vitamins that should be ok.

MadLinda222 Thu 01-Jun-17 12:10:18

Oh! Alima/Whitewave,

Thank you so much for your replies!

Yes, my main concern is while they may think it's tasty, I worry I wouldn't know the right amounts of what to give them and then could ultimately miss out on some important nutrients that are very important.

I also saw that Trust Me I'm a Vet show too. It put me off the idea of feeding them raw stuff (I have looked at a few raw diet things for them, but none of it looks too appealing!).