Gransnet forums

Pets

Diabetes in dogs

(9 Posts)
Dinahmo Sun 23-May-21 19:42:37

My dog Ruby, aged 9, has developed diabetes. At the moment the vet is still checking the right level of insulin. She has to have a jab every 12 hours after being fed.

What I'd be interested to hear from any of you with a diabetic pet is any tips you might have on coping with this.

Sticking to the 12 hour regime is a little difficult as I have another dog but I have weaned him on to the 12 hour meal cycle too. No treats now for either because if one gets a treat the other knows about it.

sodapop Sun 23-May-21 21:40:57

Sorry your dog has become ill Dinahmo hopefully once she is stabilised she will continue with her usual happy life. I've had no experience of this so no advice to offer.

Kali2 Sun 23-May-21 21:49:52

I used to dog sit for a friend who had a diabetic Yorkshire - very easy to inject, just grab the thicker part of the neck- no pain for the dog either. As it was 13 years old, no specific diet was required- just no 'treats and titbits'.

Redhead56 Sun 23-May-21 21:51:57

Our Sandy developed diabetes at about fourteen she suddenly lost weight and was drinking vast amounts of water. She was put on medication and a strict diet for her condition. We also had another dog which followed the same diet just to make it easier.
Sandy lasted about two years then we had to have her euthanised because her breathing was very difficult. She had a good life with us which she might not of had we bought her as a rescue who had been abused. I would say enjoy your little friend while you can I was heartbroken my Sandy was so loyal.

Thebeeb Sun 23-May-21 23:11:55

I had a cat with diabetes. Was really unsure about it at first but with really good encouragement from my vet he lived with it for several years quite happily. No trouble injecting or testing the wee. He co-operated perfectly. Did cost a bit for insulin and regular check ups though. And a few problems when we went on holiday.