Gransnet forums

Relationships

Overseas visits to daughters

(28 Posts)
ooonana Wed 28-Jun-17 15:40:36

Daughter lives abroad, married ,one child aged 4 and another expected in September. I've been visiting yearly for the last 14 years. Previously there has been accommodation with DD and her husband and I have taken on occasions my friend/ partner of long duration. He loves my family and sees these trips as a winter holiday and enjoys their company as his own family life is a tad dysfunctional. Last time we visited there were several family issues going on, another family member in hospital, DD with early morning sickness and general tension between partner and myself.
Now discussing dates for visit in Jan / Feb and I've been told I must stay in rented accommodation , hire my own car and generally be independent of them. They claim they can't cope with the tension between me and my partner around them again. I am intending to spend more time there as I grow older and they feel I should learn to live independently. Should I make this a time to go completely alone and rescue time with my daughter and the new baby, I did feel very torn last time between them and keeping partner sweet. I have to tell partner that this is my quality time with my daughter and family, I'm unsure how to go about it to keep everyone happy. Any help?

HildaW Wed 28-Jun-17 16:02:43

Oh Families!
Sorry you are being put in this position - but I know which way I'd go. I'd do anything to keep my relationships with my children and grandchildren. Its a subject that has sometimes had to be considered within our family....we are full of remarriages and steps ..... thankfully there has never been a situation that has required a full blown ultimatum but certainly my DH (of 30years standing now) knew in the early years of our marriage which way I would have gone if needed. My daughter would have taken precedence.