Gransnet forums

Relationships

Feeling lost

(60 Posts)
StarTurtle Mon 18-Mar-19 15:20:14

My husband and I have split after 16 years. No ones fault particularly just both changed. I know we can’t go back to being together but I’m also scared of going forward. He was my best friend. He would come back which makes this harder for me. The next step is telling my family (grown up children know already) and selling our family home of 16 years. Need to motivate myself but struggling to move on. I hope I’m not making a big mistake.

sodapop Sun 14-Apr-19 18:06:58

I'm really not sure what the previous message is about, it doesn't seem to be a response to the original poster or am I missing something ?

Shazloo Sun 14-Apr-19 13:19:53

Good afternoon,
I’m a newbie here.... I’m looking to “adopt” a new Mother-in-Law!!!
I had a really good, loving and respectful relationship with my partner’s mum for 5 years.
Long story short, he was destroyed in his divorce(financially, psychologically and then she poisoned the kids towards him)
I have been there throughout, supporting him in every way possible including financially for legal support and court fees etc.
I was not the cause of the failed marriage, and did not meet him until 6 months aftee he was asked to leave the former marital home.
Being in your early mid 50’s with no savings is hard enough, but then due to the stress my partner had 3 heart attacks and then Quadruple open heart surgery where he nearly lost his life.
His mother was also supportive, and wanted to help so after much deliberation she moved and released some equity. A % went to my partner’s brother;also gone through a bad breakup) whereby he was able to secure a home.
We, on the other hand were invited to live(one house divided into 2)with her.
We were happy to have a chance to have a secure home, beable to look after her and start up our dream, Bed and Breakfast.
Within a month of moving in my partner had his operation, and then the cracks started to appear.