Gransnet forums

Relationships

Weaponised incompetence

(46 Posts)
GagaJo Wed 25-Aug-21 21:38:20

A husband tricking his wife into holding his hand through an activity he should be able to do likely results in her taking it on herself and absolving him of the responsibility.

I'm not an expert with this. My ex WAS incompetent when it came to domesticity and still is with his 2nd wife. Hoovers, but it still needs doing when he's finished. Breaks so much stuff when washing up, it isn't worth making him (and our daughter has inherited this from him!).

Interesting though.

www.dailydot.com/irl/tiktok-shopping-list-incompetence/?utm_medium=sJ8OTU&utm_source=liqsoc&lsid=-dwmtqznze&fbclid=IwAR15-1FSfowjzl3pjlMw1MQz9d9KgNLQoF_RmYbZU4_o4J5aNb4ksysf2UA

welbeck Fri 27-Aug-21 23:41:44

i can't do anything.

LauraNorder Fri 27-Aug-21 22:51:35

If it takes brains I do it, if it takes brawn he does it. Works for us.

JenniferEccles Fri 27-Aug-21 22:28:59

I remember Theresa May talking about boy jobs and girl jobs. How she was ridiculed, but there are a lot of us following more or less traditional gender roles.

grannybuy Fri 27-Aug-21 21:53:06

My DH ( now deceased ) did do some things - mainly the bins, some of the gardening, painting and some of the car maintenance, but I did everything else, including wall papering and tiling, and any self assembly items. I never asked him to do anything, not even to make me a cup of tea. That’s not to say that he didn’t do things, he did, but not because I asked. I wish now that I’d sometimes been ‘needier ‘ and not so independent. Now, of course, I do everything, like today, up on a tall stepladder, to replace the battery of my smoke alarm, on my high ceiling.

Amberone Fri 27-Aug-21 16:47:55

I blame the men's own mothers for bringing them up this way.