Gransnet forums

Relationships

Mistake of reading comments on Granset.

(70 Posts)
ThespiGran Sun 08-Jan-23 11:49:20

Been quite upset bt some responses on here regarding my sons partner not wanting to breastfeed any longer. As a new Grandma, I came here looking for advice. Im a novice too. But I was scolded. The WORST thing I did was to read some comments. Its the tone of them. Only been here two weeks. Considering coming off.

nadateturbe Thu 02-Feb-23 04:07:00

However there are so many more kindhearted and tactful gransnetters than not so I stayed.
This is true Faye.

faye17 Wed 01-Feb-23 23:18:30

Thespigran
As you clearly said ' its the tone of them' referring to some of the comments - I felt exactly the same about several replies to some of my first posts on here.
However there are so many more kindhearted and tactful gransnetters than not so I stayed.
Some of the most regular commentators on here are more concerned with voicing their own opinions than trying to understand anybody else.
Congratulations on the birth of your grandson and enjoy him 💐

Wyllow3 Wed 01-Feb-23 23:09:07

I think the "Activists" comment above is in regard to political threads, and one can expect some quite tough comments there that will never agree with an O/P.

Otherwise having been on other forums, I can say gransnet is pretty polite and mild.

One tends to respond differently if its in the "advice" "ask a gran" section.

If its under "relationships", then I expect people to bring their own experiences and feelings into it and it's not going to be comfortable. some will have had tough time themselves on an issue and feel strongly and it won't match an O/P's opinion. But as others have said, unwise to post if you just want agreement.

nadateturbe Wed 01-Feb-23 23:04:21

Caleo

Indeed Dickens! A scolding tone is inappropriate whether the poster seeks advice or consolation.

I agree.

Callistemon21 Wed 01-Feb-23 23:04:11

BlueBelle