Gransnet forums

Relationships

Mistake of reading comments on Granset.

(69 Posts)
ThespiGran Sun 08-Jan-23 11:49:20

Been quite upset bt some responses on here regarding my sons partner not wanting to breastfeed any longer. As a new Grandma, I came here looking for advice. Im a novice too. But I was scolded. The WORST thing I did was to read some comments. Its the tone of them. Only been here two weeks. Considering coming off.

Redhead56 Sun 08-Jan-23 12:07:23

Don’t be put off by some of the responses that will seem a bit sharp others are more tolerable to read. Its mixed views isn’t it and often they are posters gut reactions to a situation put forward by the OP.
It’s a good idea to read the responses and take note of the advice from the ones that suit you. It’s what I did when I first came on here seven years ago.

mumofmadboys Sun 08-Jan-23 12:13:36

You are feeling sensitive too Thespigran. It is a special time for you too and you want everything to be as perfect as possible for your grandchild. Some posters are more forthright but everyone is trying to help. Don't take more abrupt comments to heart. Take away the comments you find helpful. Stick with us - on the whole we are a caring bunch!

Galaxy Sun 08-Jan-23 12:13:52

I have found throughout my life that advice given which I responded badly to was often looking back the best advice.

BigBertha1 Sun 08-Jan-23 12:17:41

ThespiGran dont leave. I didn't see your posting and any way I'm not an expert on breast feeding - didn't do it for my daughter. Gransnet can be a variable experience. You will find when you get to know some of the names the way certain people always respond and just avoid what they say - like walking past someone you don't like on the street. Others are lovely and you stay and have a nice chat with them. Like me. grin

ThespiGran Sun 08-Jan-23 12:18:00

Very kind of you to post back. Mum of madboys and Redhead 56. My lovely partner is advising me to co.e off. Lets see... Have a great day.