Gransnet forums

Technology

Windows 7....

(25 Posts)
AlieOxon Mon 21-Jan-13 19:01:13

Don't know if there is already a thread, but my new computer runs Windows 7 and I am not in tune with it!

Anyone know if there is an online manual? I mean not just a 'help', as that has already NOT been any help, but the old style manual that actually tells you how to do things, like 'how do I get back to the page I just had?' - one of my continual problems, as I keep shutting the program instead!

Outlook is especially problematic, as I miss those nice dropdown menus in XP, and cannot find things in the mess of small stuff at the top.

Someone direct me to a manual?

Ella46 Mon 21-Jan-13 19:34:30

I've got a Windows 7 for Dummies manual, which I used a few times when I started as a total novice.
W.H.Smith sell them.
Hope that helps smile

Soupy Mon 21-Jan-13 19:41:35

The new pcs are already running Windows 8; are you sure you don't mean it's the MS Office Suite you're having trouble with, as that includes Outlook?

I know the current version, which I have at home, is not nearly as intuitive as the older version that I use at work.

AlieOxon Mon 21-Jan-13 21:07:25

I did choose not to have Windows 8, didn't hear good things about it.
I seem to be having trouble with the whole thing. Explorer is ok.
Will look for a cheap copy of W for D for starters!

Outlook is the worst, but I can't blame them for the Amazon site which after no probs before, has suddenly made me order two different webcams....not intended!

parker Wed 23-Jan-13 15:05:40

It may pay to change your browser. I had problems until I changed to Firefox, after getting Windows 7, it now is OK. Why changing the browser worked I do not know,but it did.

Elegran Wed 23-Jan-13 16:09:50

I don't like Windows 7.