Gransnet forums

Technology

Renewable energy

(13 Posts)
Mishap Mon 02-Sep-13 18:59:54

As I am about to receive a legacy - not huge - I am considering pholtovoltaic panels as a means of generating electricity, on the grounds that we would gain more by reducing our electricity bills than we would by investing it at the current measly interest rates.

I have looked up lots about it, but would be interested in the experiences of others.

Our house faces due south, but the roof pitch is east/west.

j08 Mon 02-Sep-13 19:11:40

I just hate the look of them. And I think it would take many years to recoup the initial outlay.

But I've no actual experience of them.

janeainsworth Mon 02-Sep-13 19:43:53

www.moneysavingexpert.com/utilities/free-solar-panels#buy

Have a look at this Mishap

Mishap Mon 02-Sep-13 19:51:52

I don't think it is about recouping the initial outlay any more but about putting the money into something that will make some money rather than trying to get a return from investing it.

Thanks jane - I'll take a close look at that link.

JessM Mon 02-Sep-13 19:55:36

When the feed in tariff first came out we went for lots of 'em. The rates are not as good now as then. Now that the house is rented out we will be happy to have the income - specially after the summer we just had.

This is what to consider:
All the ks you generate will pay you a feed-in tariff.
You can also use the electricity for free (the stuff that is also being counted for feed in payments) so the savings you make will vary according to the way you use appliances. I quickly got in the habit of thinking "sun's out, is there any washing to do" or "sunny afternoon - let's use the electric oven now, rather than wait until evening". This is the way you save more money on your bills.
South facing roofs are by far the most effective. And the amount you earn depends on whether you get sun in the summer months as winter sun is too low and short to do much.