Gransnet forums

Technology

Excel

(15 Posts)
junie1 Fri 20-Jan-23 16:21:03

Hi
I have not used my laptop for a few years, I do everything on my phone.
I was asked to fill in some information on excel, no clue whatsoever, my husband had to do it for me, I feel really annoyed with myself, I would love to learn how to use excel, but it would have to be complete beginners,

Can anyone help please
Junie

JulesJ Fri 20-Jan-23 16:23:49

If you go to the main Microsoft website they offer lots of online free training

junie1 Fri 20-Jan-23 16:25:11

Thanks JulesJ
Off to have a look

Chestnut Fri 20-Jan-23 16:35:21

Be prepared to spend some time on it. There is so much to learn, and most importantly don't press the print button before checking your 'print preview' as I seem to remember people at work printing 50 empty pages which is such a waste. You can tell the spreadsheet what you want to print by making adjustments in the 'page break preview'. I am using Excel 2007 however.

junie1 Fri 20-Jan-23 17:34:31

Thanks chestnut
A lot to get my head round, I need an idiots guide.

Junie

AmberSpyglass Fri 20-Jan-23 18:18:31

YouTube have loads of tutorials as well!

Redrobin51 Fri 20-Jan-23 18:27:09

I find the "Dummies" books are good. There are different versions of Excel so make sure you have the right one. My husband is a self taught whizz at spreadsheets and blined me with science when he was explaining things to me. I took a beginners CLAIT course which covered Excel, Word Processing a Databases and found it really useful. Many local colleges, night schools etc run beginners classes. Good luck.x

Chestnut Fri 20-Jan-23 18:32:39