Gransnet forums

Travel

Help - JFK to downtown NY

(12 Posts)
schnackie Tue 24-May-16 15:13:13

I am far from a novice traveller, but have never been to JFK in New York. My family live about 150 miles away from the city (still in New York) and I thought I could get Megabus from JFK to Albany. (Megabus goes to and from the Boston airport.) Now I find I have to get from the airport, on my own (with very little luggage!) to downtown New York City, and I may not even be able to get out of the city until the next morning.
Obviously I am trying all the Google searches etc, but just wondered if there was anyone who makes this journey on a regular basis and might know about a train or subway connection that I cannot sem to find! Pulling my hair out here. Travelling next Tuesday 31 May. Thanks in advance!

wot Tue 24-May-16 15:34:31

Don't get a taxi; it will cost a fortune! Train is cheaper.

wot Tue 24-May-16 16:43:25

Im sure there are trains from JFK but cant remember the name of staion. Will ta ke you to middle New York.

schnackie Tue 24-May-16 17:14:34

Thank you Wot. I am making a bit of progress with websites etc. There is a train and there are also those minibuses that you book ahead which don't cost much. But so far, I wouldn't know where they would be taking me! Sleeping in the airport will be a last resort, but may have to do that and then get transport to city to catch Megabus in the morning. Ugh!

Riverwalk Tue 24-May-16 17:33:12

Yellow taxi from the official stand at JFK. The queue is monitored by airport staff and there is a standard fare to Manhattan plus tolls. Used to be $50. Google something like flat fare taxi from Jfk to Manhattan

schnackie Wed 25-May-16 14:46:41

Thank you Riverwalk. I have now found that I can get a train from Penn Station to Albany for only £25 so I may get a taxi to the city!

Stainedglass Sat 11-Jun-16 15:17:39

There is a NEw York forum on Tripadvisor and I have usually found it very helpful from people who are living there