Gransnet forums

Travel

‘Sisterstay’ has someone had personal experience?

(17 Posts)
mokryna Wed 16-Mar-22 21:54:50

I am looking forward to traveling again but I am a little apprehensive these days. Someone has recommended the ‘Sisterstay’ option for over 50 women solo travelers. What was your personal experience?

giulia Fri 18-Mar-22 10:33:13

Please tell me more. It could be interesting for my sister who is eighty but still likes to travel.

mokryna Fri 18-Mar-22 22:13:57

I would really like to know as it seems a very good idea for me as I am 72..

welbeck Sat 19-Mar-22 02:42:16

sorry, no experience. never heard of it before.
sounds an interesting idea.
although not for me, will remember it, to mention to others.

Nonogran Sat 19-Mar-22 05:24:35

For those who don’t know it, here’s the website:
www.sisterstay.com/
I have no personal experience but I like the emails the Administrator sends out. They’re friendly and “sisterly”.
It seems a good place to start if you’re travelling alone.

glammanana Sat 19-Mar-22 09:19:35

Very interesting indeed .

Luckygirl3 Sat 19-Mar-22 10:01:13

That does look interesting - it would be good to hear from someone who has actually done this.

mokryna Sat 19-Mar-22 11:36:29

I have signed up Nonogran
As I have said before I have flown alone a lot in the last thirty years but have lost a bit of confidence since covid and being the age I am now I feel vulnerable.

GrannyGravy13 Sat 19-Mar-22 12:09:30

I do not know enough about sisterstay to make an informed opinion, but I personally would be worried about personal safety issues.

Staying in someone’s house who you do not know could be a minefield of issues, privacy, cleanliness, personality differences etc.

BlueBelle Sat 19-Mar-22 14:25:01

Granny gravy my feelings entirely I wouldn’t be able to take such a leap of faith they might turn out to not be very friendly or have a completely different ways to you