Gransnet forums

Travel

holiday cottage/ cat

(23 Posts)
Autumnleaves Sat 16-Apr-22 14:41:04

Hi everyone, this is my first time starting a discussion. Iv'e got the chance to holiday next week for 3 nights and would love any cottage recommendations for Anglesey, but although there are only 4 adults we need to take our indoor (well behaved cat) with us. When it says you can take one pet are they referring to dogs or would a cat be included? If any of you have xperience in this regard I would love to know, thank you in advance.

JaneJudge Sat 16-Apr-22 14:43:30

if you book through say, cottages.com they will check with the owners and I guess this will be the same with any let company
enjoy your break away smile

Joseanne Sat 16-Apr-22 18:02:38

In our properties we stated "one well behaved dog" so it was clear. I was wary about cats causing damage as they scratch furniture and their wee stinks. I would consider it if anyone asked, but what would happen if the visitors went out for the day? Is the cat happy to be caged?
I'm sure you could ask the owner and offer to pay a damages deposit.
I hope you have a nice break.
(Our DD did smuggle a cat into a rented property once, no problems).

Sparklefizz Sat 16-Apr-22 18:32:41

Would your cat be comfortable with the travelling and being in a strange place? Wouldn't it be better to leave him/her at home and ask/pay someone to go in and feed them? That's what I would do.

avitorl Sat 16-Apr-22 18:46:31

I have taken 2cats on holiday with me and they were fine. I promised the owners that I wouldn't allow them in bedrooms and would take throws to cover chairs etc. Cat's wee doesn't stink if the cat is neutured . It is a lot of hassle for a couple of days though so for 3 days getting someone to look after it at home might be best.
I think most holiday rentals do expect pets to be dogs,I always met surprised when I asked about cats,but it's worth a try.
I couldn't take the cat I have now on holiday because she is a little menace!