Gransnet forums

Travel

Hull by AirB&B

(11 Posts)
LadyHonoriaDedlock Sat 25-Mar-23 14:24:20

You may ask, why Hull? Well, I did live there a long time ago (long ago enough to have been on the old Humber ferry a couple of times and to have watched the bridge grow). I'm keen to visit The Deep, sample the Newland Avenue café culture and see just how the old place has changed. It was a city more maligned than it deserved. It was where I spent my unhappy three-year teaching career (I was never a born teacher) but that wasn't the city's fault.

I'm ambivalent about AirB&B. I've only used it once before and it was a positive experience, eight years ago I stayed with a lovely gay couple in Ashton-under-Lyne while I went to a wedding party in Manchester. I've heard horror stories but Ruth my host on this occasion sounds lovely.

I'm interested to hear experiences, both of AirB&B and of returning to old haunts after many years.

Maggiemaybe Mon 27-Mar-23 15:24:15

I've no experience at all of Air B&B, but just wanted to say that we've been to Hull twice recently and really enjoyed our visits. It gets a rough press still, but we had some interesting walks round the city and were impressed by the museums and art gallery (all free), and the people were so friendly - on two occasions when we'd got the map out someone stopped in the street to give us tourist tips. The second time we stayed we opted for the Wetherspoons Hotel, really just because I was curious about them. I must say it was excellent for the (extremely cheap) price, and very well soundproofed, which to be fair it needed to be - we had a lively couple of hours in the bar after our Bob Dylan gig before leaving them all to it and retiring to our quiet space upstairs!

Returning to old haunts? That's always been a positive experience for me, as they've usually been spruced up a bit since I left, in a good way.

susytish Fri 09-Jun-23 21:35:45