Gransnet forums

TV, radio, film, Arts

Jane Grey BBC4

(19 Posts)
Tegan2 Wed 10-Jan-18 19:59:14

Second part tonight. Not sure if it's a repeat [don't think it is]. Thought it was a part of history that I knew quite well, but it's really fascinating. The Times ridiculed it by saying the re enactments were pantomimic [sp] but I'm enjoying that stuff as I'm not very good at imagining things for myself.

GrandmaMoira Wed 10-Jan-18 20:12:09

I agree, I thought I knew that part of history well but the programme's brought up things I didn't know.

Parsleywin Wed 10-Jan-18 23:36:03

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed this as I've recorded it, but was slightly discouraged by similarly negative comments in the Radio Times. I will watch it, despite those 'experts'!

I've just enjoyed reading The Last Tudor by Philippa Gregory, about Jane Grey and her two younger sisters.

chelseababy Thu 11-Jan-18 07:37:03

Oh thanks for this - I hadn't realised it was on.

gillybob Thu 11-Jan-18 08:01:52

Hoping to get this on catch up . Thanks for the reminder Tegan . I got The Last Tudor for Christmas. Can’t wait to start it .

chelseababy Thu 11-Jan-18 08:13:54

Couldn't find it - what time was it on please?

chelseababy Thu 11-Jan-18 08:37:18

Oh it's 9pm sorry!

morethan2 Thu 11-Jan-18 09:45:01

Thanks for the thumbs up Tegan I love this era of history. If you hadn’t flagged it I’d have missed it. Great to watch on this glum grey day.

nightowl Thu 11-Jan-18 10:05:39

I’m enjoying it but I must admit I’m finding the presentation style a bit dry. And I wish more had been said about Jane’s childhood and background, which I think is interesting and would bring her more to life. But perhaps I’m just missing Lucy Worsley with her dressing up and her wonderful facial expressions! I just love her enthusiasm.

Tegan2 Thu 11-Jan-18 12:01:09