Gransnet forums

TV, radio, film, Arts

Peterloo

(13 Posts)
Iam64 Thu 08-Nov-18 09:07:53

We saw this at the weekend. I'm a northern Manchester girl, so it's my history, something my maternal grandmother spoke of as it had been part of her family verbal history.

I found the film at least half an hour too long. Brilliant performances from all the cast, particularly Maxine Peake and Rory Kinear. Loved the footage of our moorlands. The portrayal of poverty and hard lives was good, the footage of the massacre itself excellent. I found the portrayal of the politicians, Prince Regent, mill owners and magistrates a bit too pantomime villain. I'm not minimising or disputing the oppression of the workers but I felt the demonisation of anyone with any power almost diminished the dreadful oppression. Has anyone else seen it yet?

Juggernaut Thu 08-Nov-18 09:17:34

I studied the Peterloo Massacre to the 'nth' degree when doing 'O' level history, it drove me out of my mind for months. Therefore I won't be watching it! grin

Iam64 Thu 08-Nov-18 09:24:08

Some friends went yesterday and left half an hour in. I've not had chance to discuss this with them yet but it's fair to say they aren't right wingers.

MiniMoon Thu 08-Nov-18 09:39:42

Likewise Juggernaut, I studied it in history too. I won't be going to see it either.

eazybee Thu 08-Nov-18 10:17:28

Simon Heffer's review said exactly what you did Iam64; he praised the presentation of the concerns of the working classes as excellent but felt the portrayal of the upper classes and politicians was unrealistic, with no effort made to consider the very real fear in the country of the influence of the French Revolution.

M0nica Thu 08-Nov-18 16:09:09

As soon as I saw the stills of those healthy well fed factory workers in nice neat, clean brand new clothes, I knew the film was not for me.