Gransnet forums

Work/volunteering

Work in your late 50’s

(58 Posts)
lizkaz1 Tue 29-Jan-19 15:58:12

I am one of those people who will have to work until I am 66. In theory I don’t mind, but I really do not like m job. Change it I hear everyone say, but I’m finding that it’s really not that easy. People just do not want to employ you, my partner is over 60 and in the same boat. I’m a teacher, I like the school, my colleagues are great but I am sick to death of the stress and workload. I came into teaching late so my pension wouldn’t be great if I retired early. I’m like everyone else and have financial commitments. There are so many other jobs I could do, but it’s as if once they see your age on your application form they do not even look at you. My partner who is really trying hard to change his job right now is finding the same. I am finding that as I fast approach my 60th I am becoming invisible within society, no one wants to employ you and no one is interested in your opinion anymore. I find I am wishing my life away trying to hang on until I can retire. I am fit for my age, I have made the effort to stay fit. Watch my diet, go to the gym 4 times a week and make an effort to look nice. I really hate that I am being made to feel as though I’m on the scrap heap.

oldgimmer1 Mon 04-Feb-19 09:32:13

Employers are technically not allowed to ask your date of birth (afaik).

Also, an employer can no longer ask a person to leave when they reach retirement age as it's discriminatory if that person wishes to continue.

I think the problem the OP is going to have is maintaining her pension contributions, getting the balance she would like and maintaining her pay levels.

I don't think she realises quite how hard it is now to find alternative work commensurate with your experience and qualifications if you're older.

You're competing with younger, more malleable and impressionable people who have been used to poorer terms and conditions than you.