Gransnet forums

Work/volunteering

self employment ideas

(18 Posts)
Jane10 Mon 07-Oct-19 06:51:27

Reported

1960Gran Mon 07-Oct-19 06:40:45

Message deleted by Gransnet. Here's a link to our Talk Guidelines.

Itsnotme Fri 30-Aug-19 20:27:38

I used to be a self employed nail technician for 12 years. I got a good client base. It’s one of those jobs that you have to have enormous patience, a steady hand, eye for detail, precision, and bearing in mind you are face to face with your customer, you have to have a nice personality, and enjoy conversation whilst you create flawless perfect nails.

It’s £1000s for training and the industry is changing all the time. People think painting nails is easy. There’s extensions, gels, dip systems all with different product makes, which means different techniques,

It’s practice practice practice. I did nails for film stars and models, and yes it pays good money if you set it up right.

I loved it, and it’s enormous satisfaction when the client is thrilled with their new nails, but it’s demanding when you have a time limit in the fashion industry. You learn to work very fast with brilliant results. I miss it, but my life changed and I can’t go back to it just yet.

Pantglas1 Thu 25-Jul-19 07:53:25

Dog walking seems to be very popular in north Wales- so many families out at work all day and need someone to take their pooch out for half an hour pooh break etc between 10-3. Nice little earner for 5-6 hours if all your clients are in the same town and you still get weekends free.

MamaCaz Thu 25-Jul-19 07:50:15

Others will correct me if I am wrong, but I think you can earn up to £1,000 a year without having to register as self-employed or fill in a self-employed tax return at the end of the year, so perhaps you could dip a toe in the water with one or more of your ideas before plunging right in?

oldgimmer1 Thu 25-Jul-19 07:46:17

I used to be self-employed as a piano teacher. It wasn't a living, and I ended up getting a job.