Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

To all the young grannies who run a business

(50 Posts)
Delia12 Wed 13-Mar-24 10:33:39

Hi, im Delia! I'm 52, and I have been running a family restaurant for about 20 years now. It's been my pride and joy, a place where families gather for good food and great memories. But lately, I've noticed a decline in business, and it's got me worried.
You see, times have changed, and I want to appeal more to the younger crowd, those aged 16 to 35. They're the future, after all! But I'm not sure how to go about it. How do I make my restaurant more appealing to them? How do I promote it in a way that catches their attention?

I've thought about updating the menu to include trendier dishes, maybe adding some vegan options or healthier alternatives. But I'm not sure if that's enough. And when it comes to promotion, I feel a bit lost in this digital age. Back in my day, it was all about word of mouth and local advertising in the paper! Any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance for your wisdom!

Theexwife Wed 13-Mar-24 10:40:57

Go to a busy restaurant in your area and see what they are doing, there are different needs according to where you live.

Germanshepherdsmum Wed 13-Mar-24 10:42:01

Wouldn’t it be more sensible to ask this question on Mumsnet if you want to know what appeals to younger people?

Callistemon21 Wed 13-Mar-24 10:42:07

I think you're asking the wrong demographic!

The Hairy Bikers programme last night featured some successful restaurants and food outlets featuring more unusual food. Worth a watch.

maddyone Wed 13-Mar-24 10:42:27

You sound rather ageist. Surely you should be trying to appeal to all ages. Customers ages are irrelevant, because they are customers. Have you never heard of the grey pound?

Astitchintime Wed 13-Mar-24 10:45:24

I agree with Theexwife - look at those restaurants reviews first though, you don't want to simulate one that's not much good.